Why Heavy Metal? Isn’t It Just a Bunch of Noise?

 Music has a long and rich history that reaches back to the beginning of humanity. That is thousands of years worth of sounds and rhythms that has evolved into the music of today. For each era, musicians use, build upon the current music, and then add in their own ideas to create a new music style, or genre, is born. Heavy metal is one such genre that was born from blues rock and psychedelic rock, experimenting with these sounds and amplification. It has been one of the longest lasting genre. First known to most as hard blues rock, heavy metal has grown more distinct and influenced the emergence of new sub-genres and sub-cultures across the world. Heavy metal is often misunderstood due to the extra loud amplification, distorted sounds and dramatic vocals with dark and angry lyrics. I myself have judged heavy metal for years as just obnoxious screaming played way too loud. It is far from anything I normally listen to.

Why then would I choose to study the history of heavy metal? When I myself don’t like the music. Isn’t it just a bunch of noise. I prefer songs I can understand otherwise I cannot connect to the music. In this case it is not the music I want to connect with, There is some one more important that I want to connect with and that is my husband. He has a radio show featuring what else. . . . heavy metal. I have been supportive of his dream but felt no real connection to what he was doing. I hope by understanding the history, technical development and cultural influences world wide, that I may find something about heavy metal to like. Perhaps even grow to appreciate the music my husband loves and that I have been tuning out for years. I love him and our son very much.

Listen to the show online at http://www.slater144.wix.com/slatersmetalshow

Image

About Crystal K

I am the wife of a metal head and the mom of a ten year old boy. I am proud of the work my husband has done making Slater's Metal Show. It is a heavy metal radio show both on air and online. I went to college for marketing and am helping him promote his show and website. My goal is to get one million fans listening to Slater's Metal Show.

Let me know what you think. Leave your comment.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

Jessica Bakkers

Creative & Freelance Writer

Mike's Film Talk

Entertainment: Film, Television, Books

Heavy Metal Horror Hub

For the love of all things loud and scary

Heavy Metal Infection

Dates, Facts, Samples: Discover the addictive World of Heavy Music

